a thank you from me

After Hurricane Sandy hit the NYC coast, I volunteered in Coney Island with New York Cares to serve food supplies to the local residents. It was a cold bleak Saturday morning and after a long bus ride I arrived to see a line of people several blocks long waiting for food supplies. I put on a smile and worked for hours; sorting through the fruit, bagging meals, and crushing boxes. I didn’t stop until one elderly woman grabbed my hand so hard I couldn’t do anything but look her in the eyes. She had tears pouring down her face and look of despair that would break your heart. She said “I want to thank you honey, for coming here today and taking care of me because I needed you. God bless you”  I will never forget her words. I think that was the first time I realized the true impact that my service had on others.

I would like to say THANK YOU to all the volunteers out there that have given their valuable time, energy, funds and heart to their favorite cause. As a volunteer  you always deserve the sense of pride and accomplishment you feel inside and even if we feel it is not necessary to hear all the time, we as volunteers should always graciously accept  the appreciation and thanks we receive from the people who notice our hard work and dedication.

Leave a Reply

